Five Fab Fotos with Tony Fiorini, A Visual Conversation with Imaginative Professionals

Meet Tony Fiorini, Freelance Photographer:

tony fiorini

I started taking pictures in college where I worked for The Pitt News, the student newspaper for the University of Pittsburgh. In the fall of my junior year I studied abroad with Semester at Sea, a program where you sail around the world on a ship and visit 12 countries along the way. While at sea you take college classes, and when in port you explore. It was a life changing experience. I took an advanced black and white photography class on board and knew this is how I wanted to spend the rest of my life, making pictures. That is where I fell in love with photojournalism.

I started at the Reading Eagle in 1996 and was there for 8 years. I learned a great deal from the wonderful photographers on staff at the Eagle. In 2004 I left the Eagle and became the staff photographer for Semester at Sea on their spring 2004 voyage. From the day I left the ship in 1994 had been wanting to go back. It was again a life changing experience.

In 2006 I was hired on as the staff photographer for The Catholic University of America in Washington DC. It was a great job providing the university with any image they would need. My work was used online and in print by all areas of the university.

I met my wife who at the time was a post doctoral scientist at the Carnegie Institution and when she got a teaching job at Yale University we moved to Connecticut. I became a freelance photographer, shooting mostly events at Yale and doing more and more weddings. I also look after our 3 year old son and 3 month old daughter.

What I miss most about not working in a newsroom is the camaraderie of the photo department staff. I like working together with reporters, editors, and designers to tell a compelling story, I do miss that but have settled into a wonderful life of occasional freelance work and playing with matchbox cars.

For more info: www.tonyfiorini.com

Check out his Instagram here

01-flag

1. Flag – I made this image in October, 2001. There were American flags everywhere and I had seen this effect somewhere. There was a flag painted on the side of a garage and I was able to drive up close to it and shoot the rain drops with the flag on my car window.

02-crash

2. Crash – I just love the expressions on the kid and cops here. This was after a motor vehicle accident and this was found in the car.

03-pope

3. Pope – When working for The Catholic University of America the new Pope, Benedict XVI came to the United States for an official visit. One stop was Washington DC and campus.

04-water

4. Water – Women line up for water in a rural town in India.

05-hands

5. Hands – School girls hold hands while singing in a township school in Cape Town, South Africa.

 

Leave a Reply

