Currently Playing at Casa Fernandez: Who Sang it Better Edition

I’m on this covers kick again. Every so often, I spend hours digging thru YouTube trying to find new and refreshing ways that bands/singers have covered my favorite songs. Sometimes I find gems, and other times not so much.

Here are a few that I really like:

1. Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams(Are Made of This)

or

Marilyn Manson – Sweet Dreams

This cover was what started it all for me, I REALLY love this version. I was always a big fan of the Eurythmics, and was impressed with Manson’s cover. The video is scary.

2. Wall of Voodoo – Mexican Radio

or

Kinky – Mexican Radio

My choice is Kinky. They kept the tone of the original and added a bit of their own style.

3. The Police – Message in a Bottle

or

Machine Head – Message in a Bottle

Tough one imho, I actually like them for different reasons. I’d jam to them both no problem.

4. Michael Jackson – Smooth Criminal

or

Alien Ant Farm – Smooth Criminal

No contest, MJ takes this one. His video is amazing, but long. I do like the MJ impersonator in the Alien Ant Farm video.

5. Gerry Rafferty – Baker Street

or

Foo Fighters – Baker Street

 

 

Leave a Reply

